Queyras and Melnikov: Sunny intervals quell stormy Beethoven

Beethoven: Cello Sonatas ****

Wigmore Hall, 30th November 2014

Beethoven’s five Cello Sonatas span his compositional life – two early works, two late ones, with the third composed in the same feverish year as his Fifth and Pastoral Symphonies. French cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras and Russian pianist Alexander Melnikov, in the first of two Wigmore Hall recitals on successive evenings, explored the first three sonatas. Despite the stormy turbulence in much of the writing, they allowed the sunlight to flood in, illuminating these wonderful scores in an absorbing recital.

Jean-Guihen Queyras  © Marco Borggreve

Jean-Guihen Queyras
© Marco Borggreve

Read the full review on Bachtrack.

This entry was posted in Concert and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.