Impish Shostakovich and epic Sibelius from Yuja Wang, MTT and the LSO

Shostakovich/Sibelius :LSO/ Tilson Thomas ****

Yuja Wang © Fadil Berisha

Yuja Wang
© Fadil Berisha

Barbican Hall, 15th March 2015

Ahead of its US tour with Michael Tilson Thomas, the London Symphony Orchestra flexed its muscles in a display of orchestral strength on home turf in the Barbican. Thursday’s concert, a gala to mark MTT’s 70th birthday last December, featured epic Shostakovich (his Fifth Symphony). Another epic – Sibelius’ Second – concluded tonight’s programme, while Britten’s Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes demonstrated the incredible colours in the orchestra’s palette. Shostakovich reappeared in humorous guise, Yuja Wang joining them for the witty, knockabout First Piano Concerto.

Read the full review on Bachtrack.

This entry was posted in Concert and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.