Heaven and Earth: Marek Janowksi ascends Bruckner 7 and admires the view

Wagner, Bruckner: LPO/Janowski ****

Royal Festival Hall, 26th April 2017

Long climbs often provide the best views. The Adagio second movement of Anton Bruckner’s Seventh Symphony bears the tempo marking Sehr feierlich und sehr langsam… and it is very solemn and very slow indeed. But, in the company of the London Philharmonic Orchestra shepherded by Marek Janowski, when we eventally reached the summit with its famous single cymbal clash – supposedly added by the composer when he learned of the death of Richard Wagner – the vista from the mountain top was heavenly.

Marek Janowski
© Felix Broede

Read the full review on Bachtrack.

This entry was posted in Concert and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.